Our Staff

The Bentley staff is available to help you answer your questions and engage with the collections in a meaningful way. Perhaps it’s helping you tailor your search online, or perhaps it’s helping direct you to additional materials not yet digitally archived and preserved in our physical space on North Campus.

The Bentley staff also has expertise in how best to organize, safe-keep, and digitize letters, photographs, audio recordings and other historic documents—even Michigan football posters and ticket stubs! They can also help guide individuals and U-M departments and units through the important choices in donating materials to the Bentley.

The Bentley Historical Library Reference staff offers assistance in person, by phone, and by email.

Ask An Archivist – this online form can be sent to Reference staff with your questions about our collections, duplication policies, or copyright information.

Bentley Staff

Administration

Name Position Email Phone
Nancy Bartlett Associate Director nbart@umich.edu (734) 936-1334
Kellie Carpenter Administrative Assistant kellcarp@umich.edu (734) 763-8672
Angela Clark Business Manager angclark@umich.edu (734) 936-1341
Rob Havey Communications Specialist rphavey@umich.edu (734) 936-1342
Terrence J. McDonald Director tmcd@umich.edu (734) 764-3523
Meg McKenzie Administrative Assistant mmcken@umich.edu (734) 647-7828
Ceci Riecker Director of Development celiaorr@umich.edu (734) 647-3534
Lara Zielin Editorial Director laram@umich.edu (734) 936-1342

Access and Academic Programs

Name Position Email Phone
Diana Bachman Project Archivist dccapul@umich.edu (734) 936-1337
Caroline Barraco Reference Assistant cbarra@umich.edu (734)764-3482
Greg Kinney Athletics Archivist gkinney@umich.edu (734) 763-2907
Malgosia Myc Lead Reference Archivist mycm@umich.edu (734) 763-2187
Cinda Nofziger Assistant Archivist for Academic Programs & Outreach cindamn@umich.edu (734) 647-3524
Emily Swenson Project Archivist swensone@umich.edu (734) 647-3715
Karen Wight Reference Assistant and Project Coordinator for the Detroit Observatory kwight@umich.edu (734) 936-1337

Bicentennial Initiatives

Name Position Email Phone
Brian Williams Archivist, Bicentennial Initiatives bwms@umich.edu (734) 936-1343

Collections Development

Name Position Email Phone
Elizabeth Carron Assistant Records Manager ecarron@umich.edu (734) 647-3727
Aprille McKay Assistant Director for University Archives and Records Management aprille@umich.edu (734) 936-1346
Mike Smith Johanna Meijer Magoon Principal Archivist, Michigan Historical Collections mosmith@umich.edu (734) 764-3482

Curation

Name Position Email Phone
Matt Adair Lead Archivist for Digitization mladair@umich.edu (734) 647-3537
Tim Baron Digitization Technician tlbaron@umich.edu (734) 764-3482
Lilly Carrel Project Archivist lcarrel@umich.edu (734) 615-0689
Max Eckard Assistant Archivist for Digital Curation eckardm@umich.edu (734) 763-7518
Melissa Hernández Durán Assistant Archivist for Audio Visual Curation mhdezd@umich.edu (734) 647-4817
Dallas Pillen Assistant Archivist for Metadata and Digital Projects djpillen@umich.edu (734) 647-3559
Devon Proudfoot Project Archivist dproud@umich.edu (734) 615-0762
Shae Rafferty Project Archivist raffersh@umich.edu (734) 647-3864
Corinne Robertson Conservator cormich@umich.edu (734) 936-1347
Dianna Samuelson Conservator Senior sdianna@umich.edu (734) 936-1347
Mike Shallcross Assistant Director for Curation shallcro@umich.edu (734) 936-1344
Julia Teran Project Archivist teranju@umich.edu (734) 647-3715
Olga Virakhovskaya Lead Archivist for Collections Management volga@umich.edu (734) 647-2737