The Making of University of Michigan History
McMath-Hulbert Observatory opens...
The McMath-Hulbert Observatory, located at Lake Angelus near Pontiac, was donated to the university in January 1932. Constructed by three amateur astronomers, Robert R. McMath, Francis McMath and Judge Henry Hulbert, it included unique mechanical devices which made it possible to record the movement of celestial bodies with a motion picture camera. Francis McMath and UM professors later designed other devices to improve the Observatory's capabilities, among them the spectroheliokinematograph to record changes in the solar surface.
Photo Source: McMath-Hulbert Observatory, 1932 l-r: Judge Henry Hulbert, Francis C. McMath, Robert C. McMath; Alumni Association (University of Michigan), Box 135