Michigan Judges

Inauguration of Gov. Chase S. Osborn, Jan. 2, 1911

Inauguration of Gov. Chase S. Osborn,
Jan. 2, 1911

The Michigan Historical Collections holds a collection of papers for each of the state and federal judges listed below. Each of these collections relates in some way to the person's activities as judge. A number of other judges are represented by collections that do not relate directly to their judicial career, and are not listed here. Many of the judges names below, as well as other judges, are represented in other manuscript collections and/or printed materials in the Michigan Historical Collections. Information about these other materials may be found in the MIRLYN database using the judge's name.

United States Federal Courts

United States Supreme Court

United States Courts of Appeals

United States District Court, Eastern District of Michigan

United States District Court, Western District of Michigan

United States Court of Military Appeals

Territorial Courts

Michigan Territorial Court

Philippine Supreme Court

Michigan State Courts

Michigan Supreme Court

Michigan Circuit Courts

Before 1858, justices of the Michigan Supreme Court also served as circuit court judges, including Morell, Wing, Felch, Douglass, and Graves on the list of justices above.

Michigan Probate Courts

Other Michigan State and Municipal Courts

Justices of the Peace

Branch County--Coldwater

Cass County

Eaton County--Vermontville

Emmet County--Cross Village Township

Ingham County--Vevay Township

Lenawee County

Livingston County--Green Oak Township

Macomb County

Washtenaw County--Ypsilanti Township

Wayne County

Wayne County--Borodino