1926 Football Team

Overall Record: 7-1 Conference Record: 5-0
Conference Finish: 1st place tie
Coach: Fielding Yost
Captain: Benny Friedman
All-Americans: Benny Friedman, Bennie G. Oosterbaan
All-Conference: Bennie Oosterbaan, Benny Friedman, William Flora
Most Valuable Player: Benny Friedman
Meyer Morton Award: George Rich
Trainer: Charles Hoyt
Assistant coaches: Jack Blott, Harvey Emery, Ray Fisher, Judson Hyames, Clifford Keen, Harry Kipke, William Louisell, Edwin Mather, George Veenker, Elton (Tad) Wieman
Manager: John S. Denton, James V. Hughey (ass't), Ray C. Humphrey (ass't), Leonard A. Spooner (ass't), Frank L. Wachter (ass't)

OpponentDateSiteResult Attend.
Oklahoma A&M 10/02 H W 42-3 18,000
Michigan State 10/09 H W 55-3 33,000
Minnesota 10/16 H W 20-0 48,000
Illinois (HC) 10/23 H W 13-0 48,000
Navy 10/30 1 L 0-10 80,000
Wisconsin 11/06 H W 37-0 48,000
Ohio State 11/13 A W 17-16 90,411
Minnesota 11/20 A W 7-6 55,000

1 - Baltimore Stadium, Baltimore, Maryland

Starting Lineups                  
left end Bennie Oosterbaan (7)
left tackle Ray Baer (6)
Otto Pommerening
left guard Syd Dewey (6)
John Palmaroli
center Joe Truskowski (5)
John Schoenfeld (2)
right guard John Lovette (5)
George Squires
Syd Dewey
right tackle Norman Gabel (6)
George Squires
right end William Flora (7)
quarterback Benny Friedman (7)
fullback John Molenda (4)
Wally Weber (3)
left halfback Louis Gilbert (5)
James Miller (2)
right halfback George Rich (3)
John Molenda (3)
Harold Greenwald

View full 1926 roster (from all-time roster database, includes non-lettermen and freshmen)

1926 Team Photo
1926 team photo
view larger image

[Note: photo includes only varsity letter winners]

Back Row
Trainer Charles Hoyt, George Rich, John Schoenfield, Herman Nyland, John Palmaroli, Kent McIntyre, William Heath, manager John S. Denton
Third Row
Leroy Heston, Louis Gilbert, John Molenda, Joe Truskowski, ass't coach Elton Wieman, Wally Weber, Henry Grinnell, George Squier
Second Row
William Flora, Norman Gabel, John Lovette, captain Benny Friedman, Coach Fielding Yost, Bennie Oosterbaan, Ray Baer, Syd Dewey
Front Row
Bill Puckelwartz, Vic Domhoff, Leo Hoffman, James R. Miller

1926 Full Squad Photo on practice field
1926 team photo
view larger image

Back Row
Ray Baer, Joe Truskoswski, Charles Stienecker, Henry Grinnell, George Nicholson, John Schoenfeld, Bennie Oosterbaan, Howard Webber, Leroy Heston, John Palmaroli, Richard Dewey, Marshall Boden, Herman Nyland, Case, Norman Gabel, John Molenda, James Oade, Ben Friedman
Middle Row
Kent McIntyre, Frank Harrigan, Frank Meese, Howard Rose, George Squier, Maxwell Nickerson, Otto Pommerening, Wally Weber, George Rich, Raymond Cragin, Henry Totske, John Lovette
Front Row
Leo Hoffman, James Miller, William Puckelwartz, Victor Domhoff, Austin Hughes, john D. Whittle, Samuel Baccock, A. G. Dahlem, Harold T. Greenwald, Louis Gilbert

Video Clips

View 1926 News Reel with footge of star players, Coach Yost and game action.

View news reel of captain Benny Friedman receiving Rissman Trophy for Big Ten Championship (also clip from 1926 J-Hop.