1955 Football Team

Overall Record: 7-2 Conference Record: 5-2
Conference Finish: 3rd place
National Ranking: AP - No. 12, UPI - No. 13
Coach: Bennie G. Oosterbaan
Captain: Ed Meads
All-Americans: Ron Kramer
All-Conference: Tom Maentz
Most Valuable Player: Terry Barr
Meyer Morton Award: Jim Van Pelt
Trainer: Jim Hunt
Assistant coaches: Jack Blott, Don Dufek, Robert Holloway, Clifford Keen, Pete Kinyon, Matt Patanelli, Don Robinson, Walter Weber
Manager: Casper Grathwol

OpponentRankDateSiteResult Attend.
Missouri   4/- 09/24 H W 42-7 51,801
Michigan State   2/- 10/01 H W 14-7 97,239
Army   2/6 10/08 H W 26-2 97,366
Northwestern   1/- 10/15 H W 14-2 67,074
Minnesota   1/- 10/22 A W 14-13 63,530
Iowa (HC)   3/- 10/29 H W 33-21 73,275
Illinois   3/- 11/05 A L 6-25 56,056
Indiana   7/- 11/12 H W 30-0 61,019
Ohio State   6/9 11/19 H L 0-17 97,369
Totals179-94 664,729

Starting Lineups             
left end Ron Kramer (6)
Mike Rotunno (3)
left tackle Jim Orwig (9)
left guard Dick Hill (9)
center James Bates (7)
Jerry Goebel (2)
right guard Ed Meads (9)
right tackle Lionel Sigman (9)
right end Tom Maentz (7)
Charles Brooks (2)
quarterback Jim Maddock (6)
Jim Van Pelt (3)
fullback Lou Baldacci (8)
Ed Shannon
left halfback Terry Barr (9)
right halfback Tony Branoff (9)

View full 1955 roster (from all-time roster database, includes non-lettermen and freshmen)

1955 Team Photo

view larger image

[Includes only varsity letter winners.]

Top Row:
Al Sigman, Jim Pace, Dick Heynen, Jim VanPelt, Jerry Goebel, Marvin Nyren, James Orwig, John Greenwood
4th Row
Jim Hunt (trainer), Jim Davies, Charles Brooks, Ron Kramer, Mike Rotunno, Lawrence Faul, Terry Barr, Casper Grathwol (Manager)
3rd Row
Clement Corona, Dick Hill, Stanley Knickerbocker, Dave Rentschler, Jim Fox, Jim Bowman, Bob Marion, Ed Shannon, Jim Maddock
2nd Row
John Peckham, Carl Kamhout, John Morrow, Lou Baldacci, Jim Bates, Tom Hendricks, Dale Eldred, George Corey
Front Row
Ed Hickey, Tony Branoff, H.O. Crisler (Director of Athletics), Ed Meads (Captain), Bennie Oosterbaan (coach), Tom Maentz (Captain-elect), Bill Koelsar