Michigan Athletic Hall of Honor

The University of Michigan Hall of Honor was established in 1978 to recognize those persons who have made significant contributions as athletes, coaches and administrators to the tradition of Wolverine athletics and, in doing so, have enhanced the image and reputation of the University of Michigan.

Those inducted into the Hall of Honor have earned All-America recognition in a team or individual sport or, as individuals have established an NCAA, American or World record; won an NCAA title, or made significant contributions to the Michigan Athletic Department as a coach or administrator.

* = inducted posthumously
From 1990 to 2006, inductions were made every two years.             Alphabetical listing

1978 Inductees
Gerald Ford Football Bennie Oosterbaan Football
Football Coach
Basketball Coach
Bill Freehan Baseball
Tom Harmon Football
Cazzie Russell Basketball
Bob Ufer Track

1979 Inductees
Fritz Crisler Football Coach
Ath. Director
Ray Fisher Baseball Coach
Charlie Fonville Track
Willie Heston* Football DeHart Hubbard* Track
Chuck Kocsis Golf Ron Kramer Football
Adolph Schulz Football
George Sisler* Baseball
Rudy Tomjanovich Basketball Fielding Yost Football Coach
Ath. Director

1980 Inductees
Bill Buntin Basketball Dick Degener Diving
John Fischer Golf Benny Friedman Football
Buck Giles Baseball Vic Heyliger Hockey
Cliff Keen Wrestling Coach Barry McKay Tennis
Matt Mann* Swimming C. Eddie Tolan* Track
John Townsend Basketball

1981 Inductees
Ed Don George Wrestling Paul Goebel Football
Harry Holiday Swimming Harry Kipke* Football
Football Coach
Newt Loken Gymnastics Coach
John Sherf Hockey
Thomas Trueblood* Golf Coach
Willis Ward Track Wally Weber Football
Albert Wistert Football Alvin Wistert Football
Francis Wistert Football

1982 Inductees
Ralph W. Aigler* Faculty Rep. Robert J. Brown Football
B.F. Chamberlain Baseball Julius Franks Jr. Football
Marcus Plant Faculty Rep. Edward Schalon Golf
Gus Stager Swimming
Swimming C.
Jack Tompkins Hockey
Henry (Ernie) Vick* Football William Watson* Track
Robert Westfall* Football

1983 Inductees
Red Berenson Hockey
Hockey Coach
Elmer Gedeon Track
George Lee Basketball Maynard Morrison Football
William Murphy Tennis Coach Harry Newman Football
Harold Nichols Wrestling Bob Osgood Track
Dick Wakefield Baseball

1984 Inductees
Bob Chappuis Football
Archie Hahn* Track
Elroy Hirsch Football
Don Lund Football
Baseball Coach
Bill Orwig Football
Football Coach
Doug Roby Football
Dave Strack Basketball
Basketball Coach

1985 Inductees
Connie Hill Hockey Dick Kimball Diving
Diving Coach
Dave Porter Football
Branch Rickey* Baseball Coach
Tom Robinson Track Ben Smith Golf
Roger Zatkoff Football

1986 Inductees
Bill Combs* Wrestling Micki King Diving
Chalmers Elliott Football
Football C.
Pete Elliott Football
Ernie McCoy* Basketball
Basketball C
Assoc. Ath. Dir.
Asst.Football C.
Dave Nelson Football
Al Renfrew Hockey
Hockey Coach
Ticket Mngr.

1987 Inductees
Don Canham Track
Track Coach
Ath. Director
Jack Blott* Football
Football Coach
Wally Grant Hockey Gene Derricotte Football
Ralph Heikkinen Football Dave Barclay Golf

1988 Inductees
Don McEwen Track Ed Frutig Football
Merv Pregulman Football Francis Heydt Swiming
Harold Donahue Wrestling Bruce Haynam Baseball
M.C. Burton Basketball

1989 Inductees
Randy Erskine Golf John Greene Wrestling
Bob Harrison Basketball
Marie Hartwig Administration Ron Johnson Football
Frank Nunley Football
Lowell Perry Football
Richard Volk Football
Robert Webster Diving Gordon Wilkie Hockey

1990 Inductees
Forest Evashevski Football
H. Ross Hume Track
Robert H. Hume Track
Willard Ikola Hockey Jim Skinner Swimming
Snow, Neil* Football
Mack Supronowicz Basketball

1992 Inductees
Jack Clancy Football Ed Gagnier Gymnastics
Henry Hatch* Equip. Mngr. Bruce Hilkene* Football
Phil Hubbard Basketball Dick Kempthorn Football
Gordon McMillan Hockey Glenn Schembechler Football Coach
Ath. Dir.
John Schroeder Golf Jack Weisenburger Football

1994 Inductees
Terry Barr Football Moby Benedict Baseball
Baseball C.
Francie Goodridge Track
Track Coach
CC Coach
Rickey Green Basketball
Frank Legacki Swimming John MacInnes Hockey
Tom Maentz Football Jim Mandich Football
Dominic Tomasi Football

1996 Inductees
Steve Boros Baseball Mark Churella Wrestling
Dave DeBol Hockey Dan Dierdorf Football
Elaine Crosby Tennis
Diane Dietz Basketball
Len Ford Football
Ray Senkowski Tennis John Tidwell Basketball

2002 Inductees
Edsel Buchanan Gymnastics Bennie McRae Football
Anthony Carter Football
Herman Fishman Basketball
Penny Neer Basketball
Track and Field
Bill Mogk Baseball
Elmer D. Mitchell Dir. IM Sports
Michael "Campy" Russell Basketball

2004 Inductees
Jim Abbott Baseball Sue Foster Cross Country
CC Coach
Dave Gillanders Swimming
Jarrett Hubbard Wrestling Reggie McKenzie Football
Vicki Morrow Softball Chuck Ortmann Football
Allen Wahl Football Robert White Hockey
Henry Wilmore Basketball

2006 Inductees
Mary (Callam) Brandes Field Hockey Melinda (Copp) 
Don Dufek Sr. Football Steve Fraser Wrestling
Tim McCormick Basketball Tom Mack Football
Mel Wakabayashi Hockey Alicia Seegert Softball
Beth (Wymer) Humbles Gymnastics

2007 Inductees
J. Daniel Cline Football
Barry Larkin Baseball
Tom Curtis Football Michael Leach Tennis
Ginny Duenkel Swimming Chris Seufert-Sholtis Diving
Wally Gacek Hockey Melanie Weaver-Barnett Track
Cross Country
2008 Inductees
Jennie Allard Softball
Desmond Howard Football
Ann Colloton Swimming Michael Leach Tennis
Bill Hewitt * Footbal Ruth Pickett Thompson Synch. Swimming
2009 Inductees
Julie Bachman Diving
Mindy Gehrs Swimming
David Campbell Baseballl Bill MacFarland Hockey
Rick Leach Football
Diane Ratnick Volleyball
2010 Inductees
Rick Bay Wrestling
Wendy Marshall Gymnastics
Dave Brown Football Glen Rice Basketball
Joanna Bullard (Mehall) Track and Field Barb Weinstein (McGrath) Diviing
Don Dufek Fotball
Greg Meyer Cross Country
Track and field
2011 Inductees
Casey Close Baseball
Alecia Humphrey Swimming
Brian Eisner Tennis coach Molly McClimon Cross Country, Track
Sarah Griffin Softball Johhny Orr Basketball coach
2013 Inductees
Gustavo Borges Swiming
Brendan Morrison Ice Hockey
Rob Lytle Football
2014 Inductees
Gary Grant Basketball Mark Messner Football
Katie McGregor Track
Cross Country
2015 Inductees
John Matchefts* Hockey Brent Lang Swimming
Elise Ray Gymnastics    
2016 Inductees
Mark Donahue Football Lorne Howes* Hockey
Kate Johnson Rowing John Urbanchek   Men's Swimming Coach
2017 Inductees
Mary Fischbach (Bailey) Diving Marty Truco Ice Hockey
Gil LaRose Gymnastics MaliVai Washington   Tennis
Norvard "Skip" Nalan Wrestling Charles Woodson Football
Lisa Larsen (Rainsberger) Track
Cross Country
2018 Inductees
Betsey Armstong Water Polo Stefan Humphries Football
Tom Dolan Swimming Jennie Ritter   Softball
Dave Gallagher Football Sam Stoller* Track
2019 Inductees
Erick Anderson Football Ron Simpkins Football
Hal Downes* Ice Hockey Stacey Thomas   Basketball
John Fisher Wrestling Nick Willis Track/Cross Country
Lara Hooiveld Swimming
2020 Inductees
Sarah Cain Gymnastics Jim Paciorek Baseball
Kelli Gannon Field Hockey Tripp Welborne III   Football
Ty Law Football Lexi Zimmerman Volleyball