1918 Football Team

Overall Record: 5-0 Conference Record: 2-0
Conference Finish: 1st place tie
National Ranking: National Champions
Coach: Fielding Yost
Captain: Elton "Tad" Wieman
All-Americans: Frank Steketee
All-Conference: Ernie Vick, Angus Goetz
Trainer: George May
Assistant coach: Prentiss Douglass
Manager: Donald M. Springer

OpponentDateSiteResult Attend.
Case 10/05 H W 33-0 -
Chicago 11/09 A W 13-0 8,000
Syracuse 11/16 H W 15-0 -
Michigan Agr. (HC) 11/23 H W 21-6 15,000
Ohio State 11/30 H W 14-0 7,000
Total Points96-6

Scheduled games with Camp Custer (10/12), Michigan State (10/19), Ohio State (10/26 at Columbus), Northwestern (11/02), Cornell (11/16), and Minnesota (11/23) were canceled in response to the influenza epidemic and war-related travel restrictions. Syracuse (11/16) was added in place of Cornel. Michigan State and Ohio State games were rescheduled. A game with Mt. Union to replace the cancelled Camp Custer game was announced in the Michigan Daily on Oct. 9 and cancelled on Oct. 11.

Starting Lineups                  
left end Robert Dunne (4)
Frederick Fletcher
left tackle Angus Goetz (4)
C.C. Clash
left guard Theo Adams (3)
Angus Goetz
William Fortune
center Ernie Vick (4)
Elmer Cress
right guard Paul Freeman (5)
right tackle Chester Morrison
Albert J. Lent
William Fortune
Hugh Wilson
Frank Czysz
right end Edwin Boville (2)
Arthur Karpus
Robert Dunne
Chester Morrison
quarterback Ken Knode (4)
Stanley Carter
fullback Frank Steketee (4)
Edward Usher
left halfback Edward Perrin (3)
Abe Cohn (2)
right halfback Abe Cohn (3)
John Perrin

View full 1918 roster (from all-time roster database, includes non-lettermen and freshmen)

1918 Team Photo
1918 team photo
view larger image

[Note: photo includes only varsity letter winners]

Back Row
Director Philip Bartelme, manager Springer, Theo Adams, Frank Czysz, Robert Dunne, J. Paul Freeman, Frank Steketee, trainer George May
Middle Row
Edward Usher, Angus Goetz, Chester Morrison, William Fortune, Abe Cohn, William Cruse, Edwin Boville
Front Row
Arthur Karpus, Fred Hendershott, Ken T. Knode, John Perrin

View full squad photo